Work in progress: my first-hand notes aren't finished yet. This page is not indexed until they are.
CortiSync vs. Cortisol Manager
By Ray, software developer, not a clinician
Last reviewed
Integrative Therapeutics Cortisol Manager is reported to contain Sensoril ashwagandha, the largest ingredient on the CortiSync label, plus a handful of other ingredients. So CortiSync vs. Cortisol Manager comes down to what each label lets you check. CortiSync prints the amount of every ingredient, with no proprietary blend (Source: product label, NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database #306916, checked Sep 26, 2026). Cortisol Manager is reported to put its main ingredients inside proprietary blends. Its label hasn’t been verified for this page yet, so read every Cortisol Manager fact on this page as reported, not confirmed.
Opinion · Ray ·
Who each one suits. If you want to see exactly how much Sensoril you’re getting, CortiSync is the easier one to check. If you’d rather take one product at bedtime and don’t mind a blend, Cortisol Manager may suit you better, once its label checks out.
One person's view. Your results may differ.
| Attribute | CortiSync | Integrative Therapeutics Cortisol Manager |
|---|---|---|
| Actives | Sensoril ashwagandha, Lemon balm, Lychee (lichi) fruit, L-theanine, Holy basil, Magnolia bark, Rhodiola | Not verified yet: label check pending |
| Doses per serving | Sensoril ashwagandha 300 mg; Lemon balm 150 mg; Lychee (lichi) fruit 120 mg; L-theanine 100 mg; Holy basil 100 mg; Magnolia bark 100 mg; Rhodiola 50 mg | Not verified yet: label check pending |
| Price per serving | from $1.63 (6-bottle order, as of Sep 26, 2026; prices change) | Not verified yet: label check pending |
| Guarantee | 67-day money-back guarantee, with limits: returns must arrive within 67 days of delivery, shipping isn't refunded, and refunds are limited to one order per customer. | Not verified yet: label check pending |
| Evidence strength | Ingredient evidenceSensoril: two small, manufacturer-linked stress trials at 125–500 mg/day, studies of the ingredient; the label amount falls in that range. Five of the six secondary ingredients are below the doses used in their trials. | Not verified yet: label check pending |
Notes on the Cortisol Manager column: every value shows as not verified until the current label has been checked. What has been reported about it is described below, with the same caveat.
What’s actually different
Printed amounts vs proprietary blends
Product fact
CortiSync lists seven actives with an amount for each. Sensoril is the largest, at 300 mg per serving. L-theanine is 100 mg and magnolia bark extract is 100 mg.
Source: product label, NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database #306916, checked Sep 26, 2026
Cortisol Manager, as reported: one proprietary blend combines Sensoril (root and leaf) with Suntheanine, a branded L-theanine. A second blend combines magnolia bark extract with epimedium. Phosphatidylserine is listed on its own. A proprietary blend shows the total weight of the blend, not the amount of each ingredient in it. The reported blend weights and phosphatidylserine amount also conflict between sources, so I’m not quoting them here.
A blend isn’t automatically worse. But it means you can’t hold the Sensoril dose up against the 125, 250 and 500 mg/day tested in the Sensoril trials, and you can’t tell how much of the blend is L-theanine and how much is Sensoril.
Where the ingredients overlap
CortiSync column: the label (NIH DSLD #306916). Cortisol Manager column: reported, not yet verified against its label.
| Ingredient | CortiSync (label) | Cortisol Manager (reported) |
|---|---|---|
| Sensoril ashwagandha | 300 mg | In a blend; amount not disclosed |
| L-theanine | 100 mg | In the same blend (Suntheanine); amount not disclosed |
| Magnolia bark | 100 mg | In a second blend with epimedium; amount not disclosed |
| Epimedium | Not on the label | In the second blend; amount not disclosed |
| Phosphatidylserine | Not on the label | Listed; amount unconfirmed |
| Lemon balm | 150 mg | Not reported |
| Lychee (lichi) fruit | 120 mg | Not reported |
| Holy basil | 100 mg | Not reported |
| Rhodiola | 50 mg | Not reported |
So the reported overlap is three ingredients: Sensoril, L-theanine and magnolia. The rest of each formula is different.
What the shared ingredients were tested at
Ingredient evidence · Sensoril, L-theanine and magnolia
- Sensoril. Two manufacturer-linked stress trials tested 125, 250 and 500 mg/day, and Sensoril was associated with lower cortisol and lower stress-questionnaire scores than placebo (Auddy 2008; Pandit 2024). The Sensoril amount on the CortiSync label falls inside that range, though it isn’t one of the exact doses tested. With an undisclosed blend amount, the same check isn’t possible.
- L-theanine. A small crossover trial used 200 mg/day for 4 weeks (Hidese 2019). It was funded by Taiyo Kagaku, the company that makes Suntheanine, the brand Cortisol Manager reportedly uses. A systematic review points to 200–400 mg/day (Williams 2020). The CortiSync label amount is below that range.
- Magnolia. The two human magnolia stress trials cited here both used Relora, a combination of magnolia and phellodendron, at 500 mg/day for 4 weeks (Talbott 2013) and 750 mg/day for 6 weeks (Kalman 2008). Both were company-linked. Magnolia alone, as on the CortiSync label, and a reported magnolia-and-epimedium blend are both different formulations, so those Relora results don’t carry over to either one.
- Auddy B, et al. A Standardized Withania Somnifera Extract Significantly Reduces Stress-Related Parameters in Chronically Stressed Humans. JANA. 2008.
- Pandit S, et al. Effects of Withania somnifera Extract in Chronically Stressed Adults: A Randomized Controlled Trial. Nutrients. 2024.
- Hidese S, et al. Effects of L-Theanine Administration on Stress-Related Symptoms and Cognitive Functions in Healthy Adults. Nutrients. 2019.
- Williams JL, et al. The Effects of Green Tea Amino Acid L-Theanine Consumption on the Ability to Manage Stress and […] Levels: a Systematic Review. Plant Foods for Human Nutrition. 2020.
- Talbott SM, et al. Effect of Magnolia officinalis and Phellodendron amurense (Relora) on cortisol and psychological mood state in moderately stressed subjects. JISSN. 2013.
- Kalman DS, et al. Effect of a proprietary Magnolia and Phellodendron extract on stress levels in healthy women. Nutrition Journal. 2008.
This site hasn’t reviewed the research on epimedium or phosphatidylserine yet, so this page says nothing about what either one does. For CortiSync’s other four ingredients and how their label amounts compare with their trials, see the CortiSync ingredients page.
How you take them
Per its label, CortiSync is 2 capsules daily, preferably with a meal (Source: product label, NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database #306916, checked Sep 26, 2026). Cortisol Manager is reportedly taken at bedtime, and sources disagree on whether a serving is one tablet or two.
Pick CortiSync if
Opinion · Ray ·
- You want the amount of every ingredient on the label, so you can check the Sensoril dose against its trials yourself.
- You’d rather take it with a meal than at bedtime.
- You’re fine that most of the six secondary ingredients sit below the doses used in their trials. I’d see them as extras, not the reason to buy.
If you go this way, I’d buy one bottle first rather than the biggest order. The price and guarantee terms, limits included, are in the table above and in my CortiSync review.
One person's view. Your results may differ.
Pick Cortisol Manager if
Opinion · Ray ·
- A bedtime routine suits you better, assuming the label confirms bedtime dosing.
- You’re comfortable with proprietary blends and don’t need per-ingredient amounts.
- You specifically want phosphatidylserine or epimedium in the mix, which CortiSync doesn’t contain.
- Its price per serving works out lower once you check it. That price hasn’t been checked for this page, so I can’t tell you either way.
One person's view. Your results may differ.
If CortiSync is the one you want, the button below goes to the company’s site. It’s an affiliate link. There are no affiliate links to Cortisol Manager on this page.
Check current price → (opens the company's site in a new tab)Bottom line
Opinion · Ray ·
On paper, these two share a core: Sensoril, L-theanine and magnolia. The difference is what you can check. With CortiSync, you can hold each amount up against its trials. With Cortisol Manager, as reported, you can’t see how much Sensoril is in the blend.
When two products share the same main ingredient, I’d take the one that prints its dose. That view could change once the Cortisol Manager label has been checked, so read this page as a work in progress.
One person's view. Your results may differ.
Keep reading
- My CortiSync review: the label, the price and guarantee fine print, and what I think of the formula.
- CortiSync ingredients, one receipt at a time.
- CortiSync vs. plain ashwagandha: when a single-ingredient bottle makes more sense.
- CortiSync vs. Nugenix Cortisol Control.
FAQ
What's the main difference between CortiSync and Cortisol Manager?
What the label lets you check. CortiSync's label prints the amount of every ingredient. Cortisol Manager is reported to put its main ingredients in two proprietary blends, which show a total weight for each blend but not the amount of each ingredient inside it. Its label hasn't been verified for this page yet, so read that as reported, not confirmed.
Product fact · Source: product label, NIH DSLD #306916, checked Sep 26, 2026
Do both contain Sensoril ashwagandha?
Per its label, CortiSync contains Sensoril. Cortisol Manager is reported to include Sensoril in a blend with L-theanine, which would mean its Sensoril dose isn't shown on the label. The two Sensoril stress trials tested 125, 250 and 500 mg/day, and both were manufacturer-linked.
Product fact · Source: product label, NIH DSLD #306916, checked Sep 26, 2026
When do you take each one?
CortiSync's label directions say to take it daily, preferably with a meal. Cortisol Manager is reportedly taken at bedtime, and sources disagree on the serving size. Follow the directions on the bottle you actually buy.
Product fact · Source: product label, NIH DSLD #306916, checked Sep 26, 2026
Which one is cheaper?
This page doesn't compare prices yet, because Cortisol Manager's current price hasn't been checked. CortiSync's dated price per serving is in the comparison table. When you compare, use the cost per daily serving, not per bottle.
Product fact · Source: official site, checked Sep 26, 2026
Do you make money from either one?
I earn a commission if you buy CortiSync through the button on this page. I'm an affiliate of SellHealth (Leading Edge Health), the company behind it. There are no affiliate links to Cortisol Manager here.
About this site
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
Sources
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database. CortiSync (PrimeGENIX), label #306916.
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database. Cortisol Manager (Integrative Therapeutics), label #184858.
- Auddy B, Hazra J, Mitra A, Abedon B, Ghosal S. A Standardized Withania Somnifera Extract Significantly Reduces Stress-Related Parameters in Chronically Stressed Humans: A Double-Blind, Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Study. Journal of the American Nutraceutical Association. 2008.
- Pandit S, et al. Effects of Withania somnifera Extract in Chronically Stressed Adults: A Randomized Controlled Trial. Nutrients. 2024.
- Hidese S, et al. Effects of L-Theanine Administration on Stress-Related Symptoms and Cognitive Functions in Healthy Adults: A Randomized Controlled Trial. Nutrients. 2019.
- Williams JL, et al. The Effects of Green Tea Amino Acid L-Theanine Consumption on the Ability to Manage Stress and […] Levels: a Systematic Review. Plant Foods for Human Nutrition. 2020.
- Talbott SM, et al. Effect of Magnolia officinalis and Phellodendron amurense (Relora) on cortisol and psychological mood state in moderately stressed subjects. Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition. 2013.
- Kalman DS, et al. Effect of a proprietary Magnolia and Phellodendron extract on stress levels in healthy women: a pilot, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial. Nutrition Journal. 2008.